🏆 The Asian Cup begins Saturday!

To follow every match of this year’s Asian Cup, simply search for “Asian Cup” at the top of the Matches tab, then tap the star to add the competition to your favorites.

The 17th AFC Asian Cup kicks off on the 5th of January with hosts United Arab Emirates facing off against Bahrain. The 24 qualified nations are split into 6 groups with 16 teams advancing to the knockout rounds – the top two teams in each group alongside the four best third-place finishers. The final will be held on the 1st of February at the Zayed Sports City Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Australia won the last edition in 2015 as hosts, beating South Korea in the final. Those two nations will again be among the favourites this year, alongside Japan and Iran. But, with 8 different winners in 17 editions of the Asian Cup, don’t rule out a dark horse lifting the trophy in less than a month’s time.